#2 WIZM Story Of The Year

Time was when the voters of La Crosse could keep a mayor in office for 10, or

20 years, or more...


(Click for Audio)

But in the 16 years since Pat Zielke retired, four men have succeeded him in the mayor's office. In 2013, voters had the task of replacing Mayor Matt Harter...stepping down at the age of 28:

(Click for Audio)

After a brief comeback bid by ex-mayor John Medinger, other favorites emerged. Bill Feehan had just run for the state senate when he decided to try for mayor, and he was concerned about taxes:

(Click for Audio)

Feehan finished third in an 11-way primary, behind Tim Kabat and Doug Farmer. Kabat won the April election by a large margin. The election of a new La Crosse mayor ranks as our number 2 story for this year.



In order to post comments, you must be a registered user.


Would Cutting Committees Help Make Council Seats More Competitive?